Renée Fleming – “Guilty Pleasures”

GUILY PLEASURES is the long-awaited follow-up to Renée’s Grammy winner “The Beautiful Voice.” This album allows Renee to indulge in musical cherry-picking, singing songs and arias in eight different languages. The sheer, unabashed beauty of these pieces provides their thematic connection. Ranging from familiar favorites like the Flower Duet from Lakmé (sung withRenée’s friend Susan Graham) to rapturous, rarely-heard melodies of Tchaikovsky,Dvořák and Rachmaninov, “Guilty Pleasures” is a collection of treats Renée has long wanted to enjoy: an album of pure gratification. A special treat is an aria from John Corigliano’s The Ghosts of Versailles, a twentieth-century American opera that allows Renée the chance to sing in her native language.

Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra

Conductor: Sebastian Lang-Lessing

Composers: Berlioz, Duparc, Refice, de Falla, Tchaikovsky, et al.

  1. Les nuits d'été, Op. 7: I. Villanelle
  2. Phidylé
  3. Ombra di nube
  4. Siete canciones populares españolas: V. Nana
  5. Siete canciones populares españolas: VI. Canción
  6. Undina: Undina's Aria
  7. Sumerki (Twilight), Op. 21, No. 3
  8. Les Filles de Cadix
  9. Lakmé, Act I: "Sous le dôme épais" (Flower Duet)
  10. Chants d'Auvergne: VII. La Delaissado
  11. Chants d'Auvergne: XIII. Malurous qu'o uno Fenno
  12. Armida: "Za Štíhlou Gazelou"
  13. The Kiss (Hubicka): "Lullaby"
  14. Walzer aus Wien: “Frag mich oft”
  15. Wesendonck Lieder: V. Träume "Sag', welch wunderbare Träume"
  16. The Ghosts of Versailles, Act II: "Once There Was A Golden Bird"
  17. O Danny Boy
  18. Sure On This Shining Night, Op. 13, No. 3